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Performing Due Diligence
Please refer to §55-210.12 of the Code of Virginia

that you perform “due diligence”. For items $100 and greater in value, the law requires

that written notice be sent to the owner’s last known address on the holder’s records,

informing them that their property is in jeopardy of being reported to the state as
unclaimed and providing them with the opportunity to contact you regarding the property’s
disposition. This process can prove to be helpful to you. If your customer contacts you due to this
correspondence, you will no longer have to report the property to the state, and you will be saved
the embarrassment of having sent the property to us in spite of actually having the customer’s
correct address. As the law requires simultaneous reporting and remittance, it is important to begin
the “due diligence” process soon after the reporting period ends (June 30 each year). Due diligence
MUST be performed at least 60 days prior to filing your report (no later than August 31 each year).
This will allow the owner(s) time to respond. Please see a sample due diligence letter on the
following page.

When preparing to report your abandoned property to the Commonwealth, it is essential

Penalties for the failure to perform due diligence are specified in §55-210.26:1 (B). The section calls
for a fine not to exceed $50 for each account upon which due diligence was not performed. The
date due diligence was performed must be stated on the AP-1 form certifying the accuracy of your
report.
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Sample Due Diligence Letter

August 15, 2003

Mr. and Mrs. Good Customer
100 Any Street
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Customer:

It is our policy to review and update our account records periodically. Our records
indicate no customer-generated transactions have occurred on your account since (LAST
DATE OF ACTIVITY). State law requires us to report and remit the funds in this account to
the state if we have not had customer-generated activity with you for a specified period of
time. To prevent us from reporting and remitting your account to the state unclaimed
property office, please check the appropriate box, sign in the space provided below, and
return this form to us no later than (2 weeks).

0 The above address information is correct for the account and | am aware of the
account.

0 Please change the account holder(s) name and/or address as follows:

1] | wish to close this account. Please send a check for the close-out amount to the

following address:

Signature Date

Your assistance is appreciated. If we can assist you in any way, please contact our office.

Sincerely

Signature
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